1981 – 2000

History: 1981 – 2000

1981-82 Work started on new Dressing Rooms and Bar at Donnybrook.

1982-83 Under 19 XV reached final of McCorry Cup and lost to U.C.D., 3rd won Minor League. George Wallace wins Irish ‘B’ Cap and Phil Orr makes it 39 successive Irish caps.

1983-84 New Clubhouse opened. Visit of London Welsh. Phil Orr makes new record for Irish Prop of 43 Caps (Consecutive). 3E XV reach Greenlea Cup Final and lose to Blackrock.

1984-85 1st XV won Leinster Cup and beat Wanderers. Phil Orr makes new record of 48 Irish Caps (Consecutive). 3D XV reach final Tom Fox Cup and lose to Belvedere.

1985-86 Phil Orr equals world record of 50 international caps for a prop forward. 3rd F XV lost final of Guilfoyle Cup to Seapoint.

1986-87 Phil Orr selected for World Cup Squad, wins record number of caps for a prop, 58 internationals caps.

1987-88 Phil Orr announces retirement from representative rugby. 1st XV win Smithwicks Old Belvedere Floodlit Cup beating Terenure 12-7 in Final, losing All-Ireland Smithwicks Floodlit Trophy to Bangor 9-6 after extra time. J8 won Guilfoyle Cup beating Terenure in Final.

1988-89 4 players on Leinster side v South-West in Bath. 1st XV won Blackrock Festival (Castle Trophy), retained Smithwicks Leinster Floodlit Trophy (v Lansdowne 9-6) and won All-Ireland Smithwicks Floodlit Trophy (v Bangor 15-6). 3rd XV undefeated throughout season winning O’Connell Cup and Minor League. 3rd C XV won O’Connor Cup. Chris Pim capped for Ireland Under 25s.

1989-90 5 Players represent Leinster (4 Vs All Blacks). 1st XV beaten in Final of Smithwicks Floodlit Trophy. Dave Bursey capped for Ireland Under 21s on tour of Italy. 2nd XV complete Double – Metropolitan Cup and J1 League and also won President’s Plaque. 3rd XV retain Minor League. 3rd A’s, D’s and E’s beaten in Final of respective cup competitions.

1990-91 1st XV win Division 2 of All Ireland League (in its inaugural year) and gain promotion. 1st XV beaten in final of Smithwicks Floodlit Cup. 2nd XV retain Metropolitan Cup. 3rd A XV win League. 3rd XV and 3rd F XV beaten in finals of respective cups. Four players capped by Leinster at Senior level and one at Under 20 level. Mini Rugby numbers reach 55. Fred Yoakley, President Association of Referees. Trustees sign 99 year lease for Donnybrook grounds with Leinster Branch. Club secures 3-year sponsorship deal with Brown Thomas. Senior XV reach Leinster Senior C up final but lose to Blackrock.

1991-92 Old Wesley celebrate Centenary year with Philip Orr elected as president.  The highlight of the season is the match between Old Wesley and The Barbarians when Old Wesley become the first ever Irish team ever to beat the Barbarians.  A combined Old Wesley/Cork Con team play an Irish XV.  Reach the final of the Leinster Senior Cup but beaten by Blackrock.

1992-93 J1 XV win the Metropolitan cup and J4 team win the league.  Senior XV reach the final of the Leinster Senior Cup for the second year but beaten by St. Mary’s.  Henry Hurley selected on the Ireland Development team tour to Zimbabwe, Namibia and South Africa, beating amongst others South Africa Development team 44: 0

1993-94 J4 XV achieve the double by winning the Winters Cup and the J4 league, and create a Club record by winning every game throughout the season.   J3 XV win the Old Wesley Junior Festival.  Chris Pim selected to play for the Barbarians becoming the first ever Old Wesley player to have played for and against the famous side.

1994-95  Senior XV win the Old Belvedere Floodlit Cup for the third time.

1995-96 Henry Hurley capped for Ireland versus Fiji and member of Ireland World Cup squad in South Africa.  Chris Pim captain and Ciaran Callan coach of Leinster winning the Interprovincial Championship and reaching the semi final of the inaugural European Cup.  Senior XV retain the Smithwicks Floodlit Cup. J1 XV win the Metro League,

1996-97 Stan Browning elected President, Leinster Branch IRFU.  J6 XV win the Fox cup.  Senior XV relegated to Division 2 of the AIL after six years in Division 1

1997-98 J3 XV win the Moran Cup for the first time.

1998-99 J2 XV win the League and the Old Wesley Junior Festival.  Old Wesley win the Lorcan Sherlock Golf competition.  Senior XV relegated to Division 3 of the AIL

1999-00 J2 XV retain the League.  Senior XV promoted to division 2 of the AIL

Close wordpress